Our Sorority

Danette Anthony Reed

International President and CEO

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® was founded on a mission comprised of five basic tenets that have remained unchanged since the sorority’s inception more than a century ago. Alpha Kappa Alpha’s mission is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of “Service to All Mankind”.

The small group of women who founded Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at the turn of the last century were conscious of their privileged position as college-trained women of color just one generation removed from slavery. But at the same time, they were sensitive to the needs and struggles of the less fortunate in underserved communities in their hometowns and in other environs beyond their travels who were in need of goods, services and opportunities beyond their reach. The young collegians’ commitment to scholarship, leadership, civic engagement and public service, woven together by the bonds of lifelong sisterhood, formed the bedrock of the rich legacy of servant-leadership that epitomizes the sorority to this day. And the global reach of its programs, laser-focused on the health, wealth, family, education, human rights and parity issues that concern its constituents, ensures the relevance of the organization into perpetuity.

To learn more about Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, please visit our corporate website.

By Culture and By Merit

Elicia Pegues Spearman
North Atlantic Regional Director

Notable North Atlantic Region

The Alpha Kappa Alpha story begins in the North Atlantic Region on the campus of Howard University in Washington DC. It is here that the sorority was organized by twenty dynamic young women who shared a vision of sisterhood and service. The North Atlantic Region consists of the following states: Massachusetts, Eastern New York, Eastern Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Connecticut, Maryland, Rhode Island, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. The District of Columbia is also a part of the region.

  • The following are among the many noteworthy accomplishments of the Notable North Atlantic Region:
    It is the birthplace of six of the sixteen founders;
  • It is the place of the sorority’s incorporation;
    It is the birthplace of the very first National President;
  • It is the home of the composer of the sorority’s National Hymn.

To learn more about the North Atlantic Region, please visit our regional website.