The Notable North Atlantic Region – Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

The Notable North Atlantic Region

Mary Bentley LaMar
North Atlantic Regional Director

The Alpha Kappa Alpha story begins in the North Atlantic Region on the campus of Howard University in Washington DC. It is here that the sorority was organized by twenty dynamic young women who shared a vision of sisterhood and service. The North Atlantic Region consists of the following states: Massachusetts, Eastern New York, Eastern Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Connecticut, Maryland, Rhode Island, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. The District of Columbia is also comprised in the region.

The following are among the many noteworthy accomplishments of the Notable North Atlantic Region:

• It is the birthplace of six of the sixteen founders;
• It is the place of the sorority’s incorporation;
• It is the birthplace of the very first National President;
• It is the home of the composer of the sorority’s National