The motivating and stirring force in the chartering of Iota Gamma Omega chapter was North Atlantic Regional Director, Esther Pollard. Regional Director  Pollard revealed to the pioneering ladies her personal dream of expanding Alpha Kappa Alpha by organizing chapters in each county circling the Capital Beltway of Metropolitan Washington, D.C.

With the strong and compassionate leadership and the constant encouragement of Regional Director Pollard, “ the founding five” (Ertie Barnes, Barbara Billups Seaforth, Theatrice Davis, Susan Trent and Sarah Wooten) met with Regional Director Pollard to discuss the possibility of establishing a chapter in Prince George’s County, Maryland, on October 24, 1969. Thus the stage was set for using the talents and strengths of these women to benefit humankind in Prince George’s County, Maryland.

Iota Gamma Omega Chapter was chartered on November 14, 1970. The ceremony was held at the Colony 7 Motel in Laurel, Maryland. Anne Mitchum Davis, North Atlantic Regional Director, presided. A “vision fair had been captured” as twenty-four Alpha Kappa Alpha women participated in the chartering ceremony.

Charter Members

[rev_slider_vc alias=”memberpgslider”]

Venda Jennings *
Elenda Jones *
Cenetta Lee
Alice Luckey
Carole Jamison Parrish
Doris Sensabaugh
Dessie Smith *
Mary Ray Thompson *
Susan Trent
Trevious Coleman Watts *
Sarah Wise Wooten *
Rose Wynn
Ertie Barnes
Erma Barron
Barbara Billups Seaforth
Annette Stone Blake
Hazel H. Carter
Joyce B. Clark
Theatrice B. Davis
Charlotte N. Dension *
Ella Edwards
Myrtle Fentress *
Cathine Garner Gilchrist
Charline Yvonne Lewis Jacob


* Ivy Beyond the Wall

Former Chapter Presidents

1970-1975: Sarah Wise Wooten*
1976-1979: Ertie F. Barnes
1980-1983: Mary Ray Thompson*
1984-1987: Erma W. Barron
1988-1989: Louise L. Brown
1990-1993: Oretha Bridgewaters
1994-1997: Gloria McCollum
1998-2001: Cheryl Petty Garnette
2002-2005: Carolyn N. Pinckney
2006-2010: Kathy Keys Waymmann
2010-2013: Ingrid S. Harrison


* Ivy Beyond the Wall

Current Chapter Officers


President, Saran Baker
First Vice-President, Deidre N. Jackson
Second Vice-President, Carlita Head
Recording Secretary, Latia Hutton
Assistant Recording Secretary, Francesca Carpenter
Corresponding Secretary, Erin Graham
Assistant Corresponding Secretary, Ginneh Stowe
Financial Secretary, Carolyn Lyons Piper
Assistant Financial Secretary, Lesli Friend
Treasurer, Airenne Jeffery
Assistant Treasurer, Tawanda Cannon
Parliamentarian, Andristine Robinson
Hostess, Serenity Garnette
Door Keeper, Kim D. Boddie
Historian, Lisha Penn
Ivy Leaf Reporter, Carol Holland
Member-At-Large, Carol Herring Reid
Chaplain, Tammi Brantley
Graduate Advisor, Eta Chapter, Rochelle Andrews
Graduate Advisor, Theta Nu Chapter Lynn S. Davis

Operation Committee Chairs

Audit, TBA
Awards/Display, Tarsha Moses
Bylaws, Andristine Robinson
Connection, Ingrid M. Turner, Esq. & Monica Roebuck
Executive, Saran Baker
Finance, Airienne Jeffery
Founders’ Day, Stephanie Mcleod & Maranda Jones Anderson
History/Archives, Lisha Penn & D. Vera Chesley
IGO Chorale, Karleen Powell
Inspiration, Tammi D. Brantley
Leadership Development, Erma W. Barron, Ingrid M. Turner, Esq., & Kristi Smith
Membership, Carlita Head
Newsletter, Erin Graham
Nominating, Tammi Brantley
Pan Hellenic Council, Jen Dewberry
Program, Deidre N. Jackson
Protocol, TBA
Public Relations, Carol Holland
Sisterly Relations, Serenity Garnette, Jasmine Jackson, Ingrid S. Harrison, Curtis Smalls, Phyllis Gillians, Daisha Wilson, Oretha Bridgewaters Simms, Francis Plummer, & D. Kim Singleton
Social, Debra Ballard Rious & Betty Robinson
Standards, Stacey Chisholm & Tina Savoy Ross
Summer Retreat, Deidre N. Jackson
Technology, LaTisha Durham & Shané Hargraves
Tellers, Wanda Haynes

Program Committee Chairs National Initiatives

Ways & Means, Tanya Penny Woods & Sharon Collins
Sarah Wise Wooten Young Ladies (SWWYLA), Krystal Adkins, Lauren Estep, & Portia Joyner
Health, Sonja Bruce
MLK Day of Service, Tammi Brantley

Ivy League Initiatives

Institute for Growth and Development for All American’s Youth (ASCEND), Sharyn White,
Andrea Williamson & Angela Battle
Parents on Track, Samecia M. Brousard &
Phyllis Gillians
Popcorn Club,Bea Leonard

Ivy League Resource Teams

Family, Stephanie Taylor & Jean Humphrey
Scholarship, Rochelle Harley & Toni Perry
Shoe Bank,Michelle D. Wiilams

Local Initiatives & Partnerships

Ivy League Awards, Jennelle Rush
Sunshine (Elderly Support) , Denise McKinney

Iota Gamma Omega Awards

  • First Place Exhibit Award- 2010
  • Second Place Chapter of the Year Award, Large Chapter – 2012
  • Second Place Basileus of the Year Award – 2012
  • Erma W. Barron Making A Difference Award – 2012
  • Best of the Best – Standards Award – 2012
  • First Place for Excellence in Reclamation – Large Chapter for the New Century Membership Campaign

Undergraduate Chapters

The Iota Gamma Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., is the graduate chapter that oversees the undergraduate chapters Eta, Bowie State University, and Theta Nu, University of Maryland –College Park.  Please visit their websites for additional information.